No. R. 563

17 June 2005

CORRECTION NOTICE

AGRICULTURAL PESTS ACT, 1983 (ACT No. 36 OF 1983)

CONTROL MEASURES: AMENDMENT

Regulation No. R.457, published in the Government Gazette No. 27580 dated 20 May 2005 must be withdrawn and substitute with the following -

(a) The Schedule must be substituted with the following schedule:

SCHEDULE

Definition

- In this Schedule "the Control Measures" means the control measures published in Government Notice No. R.110 of 27 January 1984, as amended by Government Notices Nos. R.909 of 4 May 1984, R.1770 of 17 August 1984, R.845 of 12 April 1985, R.1518 of 12 July 1985, R.1442 of 11 July 1986, R.87 of 22 January 1988, R.1349 of 8 July 1988, R.1954 of 30 September 1988, R.2416 of 19 October 1990, R.18 of 4 January 1991, R.2840 of 29 November 1991, R.2269 of 14 August 1992, R.2876 of 16 October 1992, R.1560 of 20 August 1993, R.451 of 11 March 1994, R.1373 of 5 August 1994, R.1636 of 27 October 1995, R.1977 of 22 December 1995, R.2029 of 13 November 1996, R.1012 of 1 August 1997, R.288 of 27 February 1998, R.1470 of 20 November 1998, R.666 of 28 May 1999, R.1016 of 27 August 1999, R.613 of 23 June 2000, R.83 of 22 January 2001, R.397 of 18 May 2001, R.810 of 31 August 2001, R.368 of 5 April 2002, R.714 of 24 May 2002, R.831 of 21 June 2002, R.1364 of 8 November 2002, R.465 of 4 April 2003 and R.144 of 9 February 2004.
- (b) Paragraph 4A must be substituted with the following paragraph:

Amendment of paragraph 4A

- 2. Paragraph 4A is hereby amended by the substitution of subparagraph 1 with the following subparagraph:
 - "(1) The executive officer may, by means of a permit, exempt a user of land from a prohibition referred to in:
 - (a) paragraph 3(2), 3(3) and 4(1), if he is satisfied that the necessary measures have been taken for the cleansing of plants from insects or pathogens; and
 - (b) paragraph 4(2), if he is satisfied that the plant material for which the permit is required is only genetic source material."

Table 6 must be substituted with the following: (c)

Amendment of Table 6

3. Table 6 is hereby amended by the substitution of item 4 with the following item: "

No.	Kind of plant and pest involved	 '	Area from which removal is prohibited	Area to which removal is prohibited
4.	1 Citrus and species of the genera Aegle, Aeglopsis, Afraegle, Atalantia, (Severinia synonymous), Citropsis, Eremocitrus, Feronia, Fortunella, Hesperethusa, Microcitrus, Murraya,	1.	2 The provinces of KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Gauteng, Limpopo, North-West and Eastern-Cape. *	3 The Western-Cape Province. *
	Pleiosperations, inicioantos, maraya, Pleiospermium, Poncirus, Calodendrum; Zanthozylum, Fagaropsis, Clausena, Oricia, Teclea, Vepris, Toddaliopsus and any cross thereof, excluding plants which are free of the pest Triza erytrea (citrus psylla), Liberibacter africanum (citrus greening) and Guignardia citricarpe (citrus blackspot).	2.	The Western-Cape Province magisterial districts of Beaufort-West, Calitzdorp, George, Knysna, Laingsburg, Mosselbaal, Murraysburg, Oudtshoorn, Prins Albert, Riversdal and Uniondale. *	The magisterial districts of Bredasdorp, Caledon, Clanwilliam, Ceres, Heidelberg, Hermanus, Hopefield, Kullsrivier, Ladismith, Mitchellsplein, Montagu, Moorreesburg Paarl, Piquetberg Robertson, Simonstown, Stellenbosch Somerset–West, Strand, Swellendam, Tulbagh, Van Rhynsdorp, Vredendal, Vredenburg, Wellington, Worcester and Wynberg. *
		3.	The Western-Cape Province magisterial districts of Caledon, Hermanus, Paarl, Robertson, Somerset West, Stellenbosch and Swellendam. ↔	The Western-Cape Province magisterial districts of Beaufort-West, Bredasdorp, Calitzdorp, Ceres, Clarwilliam, George, Heidelberg, Hopefield, Knysna, Kuilsrivier, Ladismith, Laingsburg, Mitchellsplein Montagu, Moorreesburg, Mosselbaai, Murraysburg, Oudtshoom, Piquetberg, Prins Albert, Riversdal, Simonstown, Tulbagh, Uniondale, Van Rhynsdorp, Vredenburg, Vredendal, Worcester and Wynberg. **
		4.	The provinces of KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Gauteng, Limpopo, North-West and the Western-Cape excluding the Western-Cape Province magisterial districts of Clanwilliam, Hopefield, Moorreesburg, Piquetberg, Van Rhynsdorp, Vredendal and Vredenburg.**	The province of the Eastern-Cape. **
		5.	The provinces of KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Gauteng,Limpopo, North- West, Eastern -Cape and Western- Cape excluding the Western- Cape Province magisterial districts of Clanwilliam, Hopefield Moorneesburg, Piquetberg, Van Rhynsdorp, Vredendal and Vredenburg.***	The province of the Northern-Cape and Free State. ***

due to citrus greening
due to citrus greening and citrus blackspot".