No. R. 831

AGRICULTURAL PESTS ACT, 1983 (ACT No. 36 OF 1983)

CONTROL MEASURES: AMENDMENT

1, Angela Thokozile Didiza, Minister of Agriculture, acting under section 6 of the Agricultural Pests Act, 1983 (Act No. 36 of 1983), hereby amend the control measures set out in the Schedule.

A.T. DIDIZA, Minister of Agriculture.

SCHEDULE

Definition

1. In this Schedule " the Control Measures" means the control measures published by Government Notice No. R. 110 of 27 January 1984, as amended by Government Notices Nos. R. 909 of 4 May 1984, R. 1770 of 17 August 1984, R. 845 of 12 April 1985, R. 1518 of 12 July 1985, R. 1442 of 11 July 1986, R. 87 of 22 January 1988, R. 1349 of 8 July 1988, R.1954 of 30 September 1988, R. 2416 of 19 October 1990, R. 18 of 4 January 1991, R. 2840 of 29 November 1991, R. 2269 of 14 August 1992, R. 2876 of 16 October 1992, R. 1560 of 20 August 1993, R. 451 of 11 March 1994, R. 1373 of 5 August 1994, R. 1636 of 27 October 1995, R. 1977 of 22 December 1995, R. 1012 of 1 August 1997, R. 288 of 27 February 1998, R. 1470 of 20 November 1998, R. 666 of 28 May 1999, R. 1016 of 27 August 1999, R. 613 of 23 June 2000, R. 83 of 22 January 2001, R. 397 of 18 May 2001 and R. 810 of 31 August 2001.

Insertion of Paragraph 7

2. The following paragraph is hereby inserted after paragraph 6:

"Prohibition relating to the packing or re-packing of fruit

7. (1) No person shall pack or re-pack fruit from a plant of a kind specified in column 1 of Table 11 originating from any land within an area specified in column 2 of the said Table opposite the name of the kind of plant concerned in any facility within an area indicated in column 3 of the said table opposite the name of the kind of plant concerned.

(2) The executive officer may by means of a permit exempt a person from a prohibition referred to in paragraph 7 (1) if he is satisfied that the necessary measures have been taken to ensure that the fruit is clean of any pest.

(3) The fees specified in Table 10 is payable in respect of an investigation in connection with an application for a permit mentioned in paragraph 7 (2).".

Amendment of Table 6

3. Table 6 is hereby amended by the insertion of the following item after item 3 in the Table:

No.	Kind of plant and pest involved	Area from which removal is prohibited	Area to which removal is prohibited
	1	2	3
4.	Citrus and species of the genera Aegle, Aeglopsis, Afreegle, Atalantia, (Severinia synonymous), Citropsis, Eremocitrus, Feronia, Fortunella, Hesperethusa, Microcitrus, Murraya, Pleiospermium, Poncirus, Pleiospermium, Poncirus, Celodendrum, Zanthozylum, Fagaropsis, Clausena, Oricia, Tectea, Vepris, Toddeliopsus and any cross thereof, excluding plants which are free of the pest Triza erytrea (citrus psylia), Literiobacter atricenum (citrus greening) en Guignardia citricerpe (citrus blackspot).	 The provinces of KwaZulu-Natai, Mpumalanga, Free State, Gauleng, Northern-Province, North West, Northern-Cape, Eastern-Cape, and the magisterial districts of Van Rhynsdorp, Vredendal, Ceres, Vredenburg, Moorreseburg, Tulbagh, Hopefield, Kulisrivier, Wynberg, Simonstad, Mitchellsplein Riversdal, Laingsburg, Mosselbaai, Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn, George, Grabouw, Knysna, Uniondale, Prins Albert, Beaufort-Wee and Murraysburg. 	The magisterial districts of Clanwilliam, Piketberg, Stellenbesch, Paarl, Somerset Wes, Swellendam, Worcester, Robertson, Montagu, Heidelberg, Ladismith, Caledon, Strand, Hermanus, Wellington and Bredaadorp.
		2. The magisterial districts of Grabouw, Stellenbosch, Swellendam, Somerset West and Hermanus.	The magisterial districts of Van Rhynsdorp, Vredendal, Ceres, Vredenburg, Moorreesburg, Tulbagh, Hopefield, Kulisrivier, Wynberg, Simonstad, Mitchelispiel Riversdal, Laingsburg, Mosselbaai Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn, George, Knysna, Uniondale, Prins Albert, Beaufort-Wes en Murraysburg, Clanwilliam, Piketberg, , Paarl, Somerset – Wes, Worcester, Robertson, Montagu, Heidelberg, Ladismith, Caledon and Bredasdorp.

3. The provinces of KwaZulu- Natal,Mpumalanga, Free Statet, Gauteng, Northern Province, North- West, Northern-Cape and the Western-Cape excluding the magisterial district of Clanwilliam.	The province of the Eastern Cape.
 The provinces of KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Free State, Gauteng, Norhthern Province, North West, Eastern Cape and Western-Cape excluding the magisterial district of Clanwilliam. 	The province of the Northern Cape

R.1770 - 17.08.84 par. 4"

Insertion of Table 11

*

4. The following Table is hereby inserted after Table 10:

т	h	le	4	
	-			

(Par.7)

No	Kind of plant	Area from which origin is prohibited	Area in which packing or re- packing is prohibited
	1	2	3
	Citrus and species of the genera Aegle, Aeglopsis, Afraegle, Atalantia, (Severinia synonymous), Citropsis, Eremoci- trus, Feronia, Fortunelle, Hesperethusa, Microcitrus, Murraya, Pleiospermium, Poncirus, Pleiospermium, Poncirus, Calodendrum; Zanthozylum, Fegaropsis, Clausena, Oricia, Teclea, Vepris, Toddeliopsus and any cross thereof.	The Republic, excluding the area mentioned in column 3 opposite hereto.	The magisterial districts of Bredasdorp, Caledon, Clanwilliam, Heidelberg, Hermanus, Ladismith, Montagu Paari, Piketberg, Robertson, Somerset-Wes, Stellenbosch, Strand, Swellendam, Wellington and Worcester, also known as the Citrus Black Spot (<i>Guignerdia citricarpe</i>) free area in terms of the Export Protocol with the United States of America, Including the magisterial district of Hartswater

17