





The International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB)

in collaboration with the

South African Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

&

Argentinean Secretariat of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries (SAGyP)

is pleased to bring your attention to the

South Africa / Argentina Joint Regional Biosafety Workshop and Seminar "Biosafety of

GM crops: emerging issues and challenges in regulatory decision making"

Pretoria, South Africa 7-11 March 2011

About the Workshop

As many countries within the African Region are still in the process of developing or implementing their Biosafety regulatory frameworks, this workshop aims to provide practical "hands on" experience in the evaluation of scientific and technical data submitted in applications for genetically modified organisms (GMOs). The workshop will provide a general understanding of problem formulation and risk analysis, an evaluation of different risk assessment approaches for the release of GMOs, the application of biosafety regulatory frameworks in different countries and engaging on key issues for novel genetically modified traits. The workshop will include formal presentations as well as interactive group discussions through case study evaluations.

Course Topics

The workshop will be held over a period of 5 days and will include the following major topics:

- General principles of risk analysis and problem formulation for genetically modified organisms (GMOs)
- Practical application of risk assessment and risk management for GMO decision making: Case studies
- Overview of biosafety regulatory systems and the consideration of other issues that influence GMO decision making
- Emerging challenges and issues for the next generation of GM crops

Eligibility criteria for participants

Scientists involved in research related to the release of genetically modified organisms (GMOs) and officers or designated experts working in the area of GMO risk assessment at an official level (governmental agencies, scientific institutions, private sector etc). Preference will be given to applications supported in writing by the appropriate government ministry/ies and /or National Competent Authorities. <u>Applicants must be nationals of, and working in an African country.</u>

Course Language

The course will be taught in English.

Closing date for applications

8 October 2010

Funding

Funding will be available for the costs of accommodation (twin share), meals and local transportation for the duration of the workshop; travel is <u>NOT</u> funded (however a limited number of travel grants will be available for selected participants). While preference will be given to applicants from ICGEB Member States*, a limited number of grants are also available to participants from non-member states through external funding. Please note that no *per diems* will be provided.

How to apply

Applications consisting of the completed application form, *curriculum vitae* in English (maximum 5 pages), a short list of publications (if any) and the supporting recommendation(s) from the National Competent Authority /ies must be submitted in a single email communication or fax to:

Chantal Arendse

Biosafety, Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, Pretoria, South Africa E-mail: <u>DB@daff.gov.za</u> (with subject line - South Africa Biosafety Workshop 2011) Fax: +2712 319 6329

Only applications adhering to these instructions will be considered.

*ICGEB Member States (@ 29th August 2010 refer to URL <u>http://www.icgeb.org/member-states.html</u> for updates)

Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cameroon, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, C d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, FYR Macedonia, Hungary, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam